Skip to main content


Showing posts from February, 2018
Yogapedia Top Bloggers Badge

Amrita Nada Upanishad - Om Kriya

The Kriya expounded in the Upanishad is: Select a place free from disturbances.Spread a mat made up of Darbha or Kusa grass.Keep the mind free from any disturbancesFacing north, assume any yoga posture among Padma Asana, Swastika Asana, Bhadra Asana or any other asana which can be practised at ease.Mentally mutter ‘Om’Close a nostril with one finger, inspire through another nostril and retain the breath to maintain Agni (fire) at Muladhara. Contemplate on the sound Om only.

This should be done many times to get rid of the impurities. Meditation should be done traversing from Gross state to subtle state, beginning with navel and upwards.

This practice of yoga should be done with closed sight and with the firm foot without a tremor. The union is stated by remaining without a tremor in the hollow stalk (viz., Susumna) alone is Dharana. It is reckoned as 12 matras in point of time or 48 seconds approximately.
The subtler state of Om never decays, as it has neither soft consonant, nor con…

Amrita Nada Upanishad - Sadanga Yoga

Amrita Nada Upanishad, 21st among the 108 Upanishads, forms part of Krishna Yajur Veda. It talks about two different ways of attaining salvation.
For the pure-minded one, having studied the Sastras (Scriptures) he should reflect them over and over again to come to know about the Brahman. Knowing the Brahman, he should abandon them all. 
For the impure minded one, the practice of Sadanga Yoga (yoga of six limbs or stages) is prescribed.

 The six stages are PratyaharaDhyanaPranayamaDharanaTarka andSamadhi
Pratyahara Pratyahara is subjugation of senses. Senses are of out-going nature towards the objects of senses like sound, taste etc. The kriya or technique of conquering the senses and bring them to a point is Pratyahara. For Pratyahara, a kriya is explained here. The Yogi should ascend the vehicle of Om, by taking Vishnu as Charioteer or Driver and worshiping Rudra. He should go on like this as long as he can. Then he should abandon the car and proceed further. Then abandoning the stage…

Amrita Bindu Upanishad

Amrita Bindu Upanishad, being one of the five Bindu Upanishads (Tejo Bindu, Nada Bindu, Dhyana Bindu, and Brahma Bindu), belongs to Krishna Yajur Veda. The main mode of teaching of this Upanishad is Jnana Yoga. Two Meditation kriyas are also given.
Desires make the mind impure. Mind when attached to the objects of desire gives bondage. When not influenced by the objects of desires it leads to liberation. The impediment for liberation or Mukti is desire. When freed from bondage, Mind reaches the state of transcendence where Self does not exist. It is the mind that makes the bondage and it is the mind that liberates. Control the mind to reach that stage of transcendence. This is wisdom as well as meditation.

Mediate on the sound of Om as Brahman or Paramatman. When the Om dissolves, the Brahman remains. Meditate on that Brahman to attain Peace.

There are two stages. The first stage starts with the meditation on the sound of Om. Mentally Chant Om and think Om as Brahman. When your focu…

Hamsa Upanishad – Ajapa Hamsa Mantra

The Ajapa Gayatri is a Japa yoga kriya. It should be performed like other Japa Yoga Kriyas. Rishi, Chandas, Devata, etc., are given in the Upanishad. It should be conceptualised that in every breath, inspiration is happening with the mantra “So” and expiration is happening with the mantra “ham”. “So’ham” mantra should be done without a break.One breath is counted as one Japa. There are approximately 21600 breaths daily. For a day 21600 japas are done.
After performing Rishi, Chandas, Kara Nyasa and Anga Nyasa, Hamsatman is to be meditated at the Heart chakra. With this meditation, breath is to be seen with “So’ham”. Any Japa mantra should be initiated by a competent Guru. Hence I do not give elaborate details here. For those who are aspiring to have initiation and competent to take initiation, the following link may be of help. hamsa vidya gurukulam
My advocating for this website is not out of any personal Interest. Their mission states “This technique is imparted by the great yogic mast…

Hamsa Upanishad – Hamsa Vidya: Chakras and Kundalini

Muladhara chakra is in the lower end of the Spinal Column.  There resides the power Kundalini Coiled up. There are two nerve currents, Ida and Pingala, along the spinal column and hollow canal, Susumna, in the middle. When the kundalini awakes, it goes up through Susumna, step by step through various energy centres called chakras and finally reaches the brain centre or Sahasrara.
S.No Chakra Location at spinal column 1 Muladhara At the base of spinal Column or Perineum 2 Swathistana Base of Genital 3 Manipura Navel 4 Anahata Chest 5 Vishuddha Throat 6 Ajna

Hamsa Upanishad - Brahma Vidya

Hamsa Upanishad belongs to Sukla Yajur Veda.
Gautama asked Sanath Kumara to explain the way to obtain Brahma Vidya, the realization of God.
Sanath Kumara replied that Brahma Vidya could be obtained through Hamsa Vidya.
Hamsa denotes the Soul. Paramahamsa denotes Brahman, the supreme God. The Supreme God is in everything as Fire resides in Oil or Oil resides in Oil-seed. Brahman pervades all. Paramahamsa pervades Hamsa. Hamsa literally means “That am I”. There exists nothing other than Isvara or God. By Hamsa Vidya, Soul realises that he is the Supreme God. The realization of God in Self is Hamsa Vidya.
The process of Hamsa Vidya is explained. The Yogi should Press the Anus, force the Prana upwards from Muladhara, circumnavigate the six-petaled Svadhisthana thrice, reach the Manipura, go beyond Anahata, hold the Prana under control in Visuddhi, enter Anja, meditate upon Paramahamsa and then attain Nirvikalpa Samadhi. Drink the nectar generated by the commingling of Moon, Sun and Agni or f…

Yoga Scriptures or Yoga Sastras

Rig veda is the oldest spiritual scripture that is available today. Nada Bindhu Upanishad of Rig veda, gives details of Yoga practised at that time. Hence the age of yoga can no be determined, because the oldest of the records available tell about the prevalence of yoga practised in those days.

Of the 108 Upanishads available today, 20 Upanishads speaks of yoga. These 20 Upanishads are called Yoga Upanishads. They are

Adavaya Taraka UpanishadAmirtha Nada UpanishadAmirtha Bindhu UpanishadKsurika UpanishadTejo Bindhu UpanishadTri Sikhi Brahmana UpanishadDharsana UpanishadDhyana Bindhu UpanishadNada Bindhu UpanishadPasupatha Brahmana UpanishadBrahma Vidya UpanishadMandala Brahmana UpanishadMaha Vakya UpanishadYoga Kundali UpanishadYoga Sudamani UpanishadYoga Tattva UpanishadYoga Sikha UpanishadVaraka UpanishadSandilya UpanishadHamsa Upanishad The following yoga scriptures belongs to post vedic period. Bhagavat GitaYoga Sutra of PatanjaliThirumanthiram by ThirumoolarHatha Yoga PradeepikaGh…

Why classical study of yoga is required?

Every part of the world knows about yoga. Though it is of Indian Origin, it is practiced world-wide. Hundreds and hundreds of yoga institutes today are teaching yoga. Thousands and Thousands are practicing  or aspiring to practice yoga today.
Yoga has been institutionalised. Every yoga institute teaches yoga in a special way, as if it has been invented by them. They keep the techniques as their private property. Does they have the private property rights over the techniques by just simply modifying the techniques taught by traditional yoga scriptures or yogic guru parampara? 
Yoga has been commercialised today. In India, until the influence of western culture, yoga was not institutionalised or commercialised. Earlier no yoga guru was teaching yoga for making money. Of course, they accepted some money as Guru Dakshinai. Money was not their motive.  
But a modern day Guru, makes huge money by institutionalising the yoga. The techniques taught by him are those techniques taught by our Y…