Classic Yoga

The Online Resource of Yoga

Sat Chit Ananda


Sat Chit Ananda is described in the Sixth chapter of Tejo Bindu Upanishad. The Sage Ribhu continues to describe the nature of Atman.

Sat Chit Ananda

The Atman or Self is Sat-Chit-Ananda.

Sat is the very existence. It exists beyond the barriers of time and space. It is absolute, unchangeable, and unqualified.

The Chit means Consciousness. It can be perceivable, understood, and explainable. It could not be visible and touchable.

Ananda is the Ecstasy. It is the never-ending Bliss. The joy that has no disturbances is the Ananda. Sat Chit Ananda is Existence, Consciousness, and Ecstasy. It is the nature of Atman.  

Atman is Brahman

Atman is not “I”.  It is not “Thou”. Also, It is not “any other”. It is Brahman only. Except for Atman, nothing exists. Atman only is the real. I am that Atman. I am that Brahman. My form is the whole universe. There is no time or space where Atman does not exist. Nothing exists beyond me.  

Understand that you are the Brahman to drop the identity of the body. You are not this body. If it is realized, there will be no pain whatsoever. You become Sat-chit-Ananda. You will enjoy the glory of absolute consciousness.  

By understanding Aham Brahma Asmi, destroy your egoism. Mediate on Aham Brahma Asmi. Meditate on with the understanding that you are the Brahman. You are the Brahman without any doubt. Thus ends this Upanishad.

Ribhu Gita and Tejo Bindu Upanishad

The teachings of Ribhu Gita and Tejo Bindu Upanishad are the same. One who attained Salvation through these teachings is Sri Ramana.  

He got enlightened by asking the query “Who am I?”   Am I this Body? No.   Am I the mind? Nay.   Or Am I the Atman confined to this body and mind? No.  

Then Who am I?   I am the transcending Atman. The Brahman I am. I am the Brahman only. Aham Brahmasmi.

The Four Great Aphorisms.

There are four great aphorisms or Maha Vakyas found in Ribhu Gita and Tejo Bindu Upanishad. These aphorisms are the very basics of Hinduism. Chapter twenty-eight of Ribhu Gita was dedicated to the explanation of these aphorisms. They are the essence of the four Vedas. The four great aphorisms are  

  1. Prajnanam Brahma: The supreme science is Brahman. The absolute knowledge to be known is Brahman. This aphorism appears at the end of Rig Veda.
  2. Aham Brahmasmi: I am the Brahman. This appears at the end of Yajur Veda.
  3. Tat Tvam Asi: Thou art that. You are that only. You are Brahman only. This aphorism appears at the end of Sama Veda.
  4. Ayam Atma Brahma: This Atman is Brahman. This appears at the end of Atharva Veda.

The subject of Tejo Bindu Upanishad is the four aphorisms and their explanations. One who studies this Upanishad will gain knowledge of the four Vedas.

In addition to the four Maha Vakyas, another aphorism worthy of mention is Sarvam Chinmatra mevahi.

Reference: Sanskrit Text Reference

Related Posts

Classic Yoga