Skip to main content
Yogapedia Top Bloggers Badge

Hamsa Upanishad – Hamsa Vidya: Chakras and Kundalini

Kundalini awakening as per Hamsa Upanishad
Hamsa upanishad: Kundalini awakening

Muladhara chakra is in the lower end of the Spinal Column.  There resides the power Kundalini Coiled up. There are two nerve currents, Ida and Pingala, along the spinal column and hollow canal, Susumna, in the middle. When the kundalini awakes, it goes up through Susumna, step by step through various energy centres called chakras and finally reaches the brain centre or Sahasrara.

Location at spinal column
At the base of spinal Column or Perineum
Base of Genital
Between the eye brows
Top of the head

The technique given in this Upanishad is  Kundalini Yoga technique involving hatha yoga and Pranayama.

The first step is Press the anus. That means the yogi should establish Mula-bandha. Contraction of muscles around perineum in the male or Cervix in the female is called Mula-bandha or Perineal Lock.

The second step is Force the vital air upward. The Yogi should do Uddiyana Bandha and Mula-bandha concurrently. By doing so the vital airs, Prana and Apana will go upward. Uddiyana Bandha is the contraction of the lower abdomen.

The third step is Circumambulate the Swathistana thrice. This means make Nauli Chalana thrice as if rounding the chakra thrice.

The next step is to reach Manipura, go beyond Anahata and hold the Prana under control in Visuddhi. Hold the Prana under control in Visuddhi means perform Jalandhra Bandha. The neck lock. It is evident that the steps indirectly meant Maha Bandha. Maha Bandha is the combination of three Bandhas.

The next step is reaching Anja, meditate on tri matra Turya at Sahasrara. Meditate on “A”, “U” and “M” as Turya. Turya Means ‘fourth’ state of consciousness. The four states of consciousness are wakeful, dream, deep sleep and Turya or being with Self. This meditation will be correctly understood when we study the other Upanishads later.



Dhyana Bindu Upanishad

Dhyana Bindu Upanishad is the 39th of 108 Upanishads. It contains 106 verses and is attached to Krishna Yajur Veda whereas a smaller version of 26 verses was found attached to Atharva Veda. This Upanishad and Yoga Tattva Upanishad contains some common verses.

The mountainous sins accumulated over many births can be destroyed by Dhyana Yoga (Meditation). Nobody is found to have destroyed the sins by any other means except Meditation. Meditation is the only way to annihilate the sins.

Pranava (Om) is the Supreme Bijakshara (seed letter) with Nada (sound) and Bindu (dot). When the Nada dissolves, the soundless residuum (Brahman) remains. In other words, Pranava (Om) is eternal and Brahman is transcending the Pranava. One who knows the transcending Brahman knows everything without a doubt.

A hundred thousandth part of awn of a grain of paddy is the Jiva-Chaitanya (Consciousness of Atman). A hundred thousandth part of Jiva-Chaitanya is Eswara-Chaitanya (Consciousness of Brahman).  A fifty-tho…

Yoga Tattva Upanishad

Yoga Tattva Upanishad is the Upanishad of yoga philosophy. It is the forty-first Upanishad among the 108 Upanishads and forms part of Krishna Yajur Veda. It contains 142 verses.

I (says the author of the Upanishad) hereby present the philosophy of yoga (yoga tattva) for the benefit of yogis. By hearing and learning this yoga, the yogi will get released himself from all the sins.

The great yogi by name Vishnu, the Supreme Being who is known for his spiritual austerities, stands as the beacon of light in the path of yoga tattva. The Pitamaha (Pitamaha means grandfather. It here refers to Lord Brahman, the deity) approached Lord Jagannath (the other name for Lord Vishnu. Jagannath means the Lord of the universe) paid him respects and asked him to explain the philosophy of Astanga Yoga (yoga of eight limbs or stages).

“Let me explain the philosophy,” said Lord Hrisikesha (the other name of Lord Vishnu. It means the Lord of senses). All people are ensnared in the trap of worldly pains and pl…

Brahma Vidya Upanishad

Brahma Vidya Upanishad is the 40th among the 108 Upanishads. It contains 110 verses and found attached in Krishna Yajur Veda. Yet another version of this Upanishad containing 14 verses is found attached in Atharva Veda.
Brahma Vidya is the knowledge of Brahman. Hence this Upanishad deals with the knowledge of Brahman.
I declare the secret of Brahma Vidya, in the name Vishnu who commands over the marvelous deeds. The supreme science of Brahman is the monosyllable Om, as declared by the expounders of Vedanta.
I declare the body, seat, and durations of Om.  It includes the three Gods (Brahma, Vishnu, and Maheswara), the three worlds (Bhur, Bhuvar, and Suvar), the three Vedas (Rig, Yajur, and Sama), the three Fires (Garha-patya, Dakshina, and Ahavaniya), the three Matras (A, U, and M), and the Ardha Matra.
The body of Pranava The body of the first Matra “A” is Rig Veda, Garha-patya (Fire), Prithvi (Earth), and Lord Brahman, the deity. (In Sanskrit, the word Brahman has two connotations. One is…