Skip to main content
Yogapedia Top Bloggers Badge

Tejo Bindu Upanishad - Aham Brahma asmi

Lord siva

Lord Kumara asked Lord Siva “How to attain Self-realisation?”

The reply of Lord Siva was the third chapter of the Upanishad.

I am the Brahman. I am the absolute bliss, absolute consciousness and the Supreme Being who is tranquillized, eternal and everlasting. ( "I " here does not denote Lord Siva alone, it is used in a wider sense of Chinmatra.

Lord Siva continues.

I have no Aham-hara. I have no "I" with me.  I am devoid of anything. I am the ether of consciousness or Cit Akasa.

I am Turya only. (Turya is the fourth state of Atman beyond Jagrat or waking, Swapna or dreaming and Susupti or dreamless sleep).

I am the pure, absolute love, absolute knowledge and happiness. I am desire-less, disease-less, change-less and without any attachment.

I am imperishable and indivisible one essence. I am boundary-less. I have no limits and I am also the core of the core.

I am beyond the scope of Speech and mind. I am the Atman or self. I am the Paramatman or Supreme Self.

I have no beginning, means or end. I resemble ether and transcending ether and transcending all.

I am the residuum that ever remains.

I am devoid of body, feelings and other mental functions or material perceptions.

I am the inference. I am full. I am always content and satisfied.

I only appear as everything. Nothing is beyond me.

I support all the three worlds. I am served by Vedas and demonstrated by Sastras.

I am always fixed in Chitta meditating.

I am the absolute Brahman. I am non-dual and include everything.

I am the Adi-Sesa or prime residuum and Sesa or final residuum.

I have no name or form. I am beyond liberation and bondage.

It is I am who is beyond Turya,

I am the importance of Om.  I do not exist and I am not non-existing which is beyond the scope of mind and speech.

I am neither the mind nor the intellect nor the doubts arising. I am neither in the state of waking nor dreaming nor in dreamless sleep. I am neither subject to three miseries caused by Atman, Devas and Bhutas, nor subject to the three desires caused by wealth, Son, and ladies. I have no dissimilarities in space, time, and substance anywhere, anytime and in anything.

Except for absolute consciousness, everything is false. Vedas and Sastras, Intellect, wisdom, the body, mind, and everything is false. Know that all truth is false. Know that Rudra, Vishnu and Brahma are false. Know that all beings are false. Know that what is perceived and seen are false. All enjoyments and sufferings are false. Good and bad or right and wrong, Victory and defeat, gain and loss, and taste and smell are all false.

I alone the absolute truth. I am Brahman only. Aham Brahma Asmi.

Aham means “I”. Brahma means “Supreme God” and Asmi means “am”. I am the Supreme Being. This can also be read as Aham Brahmasmi.

Aham Brahma Asmi is the powerful Veda mantra that should be chanted with the above meditation. This is known as Atma-mantra.

This mantra destroys all the sins, all the mantras and bondage of death. It destroys the ignorance. It destroys the bondage of mind, all the diseases of the mind, intellect and body. It destroys grief, anger, lust, greed, mental functions, desires, faults, dependency, knowledge and wisdom.

It gives pleasure that cannot be spoken of. It gives bliss of knowledge that cannot be known otherwise. It will liberate all. This mantra alone is enough and no other mantra is required. There is no doubt about this.

Thus ends the third chapter of this Upanishad.

This is one of the greatest technique given in Vedas. Simply Meditate on this and Chant Aham Brahma Asmi. The Japa of this mantra and meditation is enough for any spiritual advancement and transformation. 

Reference: Sanskrit Text Reference


  1. of the rudras, i am lord siva... Gita....:-)i am the source of the demigods. Aham Brahma Asmi..... i am Brahma, i am Visnu, I am the supreme personality...... Gita.... :-)


Post a Comment


Dhyana Bindu Upanishad

Dhyana Bindu Upanishad is the 39th of 108 Upanishads. It contains 106 verses and is attached to Krishna Yajur Veda whereas a smaller version of 26 verses was found attached to Atharva Veda. This Upanishad and Yoga Tattva Upanishad contains some common verses.

The mountainous sins accumulated over many births can be destroyed by Dhyana Yoga (Meditation). Nobody is found to have destroyed the sins by any other means except Meditation. Meditation is the only way to annihilate the sins.

Pranava (Om) is the Supreme Bijakshara (seed letter) with Nada (sound) and Bindu (dot). When the Nada dissolves, the soundless residuum (Brahman) remains. In other words, Pranava (Om) is eternal and Brahman is transcending the Pranava. One who knows the transcending Brahman knows everything without a doubt.

A hundred thousandth part of awn of a grain of paddy is the Jiva-Chaitanya (Consciousness of Atman). A hundred thousandth part of Jiva-Chaitanya is Eswara-Chaitanya (Consciousness of Brahman).  A fifty-tho…

Yoga Tattva Upanishad

Yoga Tattva Upanishad is the Upanishad of yoga philosophy. It is the forty-first Upanishad among the 108 Upanishads and forms part of Krishna Yajur Veda. It contains 142 verses.

I (says the author of the Upanishad) hereby present the philosophy of yoga (yoga tattva) for the benefit of yogis. By hearing and learning this yoga, the yogi will get released himself from all the sins.

The great yogi by name Vishnu, the Supreme Being who is known for his spiritual austerities, stands as the beacon of light in the path of yoga tattva. The Pitamaha (Pitamaha means grandfather. It here refers to Lord Brahman, the deity) approached Lord Jagannath (the other name for Lord Vishnu. Jagannath means the Lord of the universe) paid him respects and asked him to explain the philosophy of Astanga Yoga (yoga of eight limbs or stages).

“Let me explain the philosophy,” said Lord Hrisikesha (the other name of Lord Vishnu. It means the Lord of senses). All people are ensnared in the trap of worldly pains and pl…

Brahma Vidya Upanishad

Brahma Vidya Upanishad is the 40th among the 108 Upanishads. It contains 110 verses and found attached in Krishna Yajur Veda. Yet another version of this Upanishad containing 14 verses is found attached in Atharva Veda.
Brahma Vidya is the knowledge of Brahman. Hence this Upanishad deals with the knowledge of Brahman.
I declare the secret of Brahma Vidya, in the name Vishnu who commands over the marvelous deeds. The supreme science of Brahman is the monosyllable Om, as declared by the expounders of Vedanta.
I declare the body, seat, and durations of Om.  It includes the three Gods (Brahma, Vishnu, and Maheswara), the three worlds (Bhur, Bhuvar, and Suvar), the three Vedas (Rig, Yajur, and Sama), the three Fires (Garha-patya, Dakshina, and Ahavaniya), the three Matras (A, U, and M), and the Ardha Matra.
The body of Pranava The body of the first Matra “A” is Rig Veda, Garha-patya (Fire), Prithvi (Earth), and Lord Brahman, the deity. (In Sanskrit, the word Brahman has two connotations. One is…