Classic Yoga

The Online Resource of Yoga

Jivan Mukti and Videha Mukti


Lord Kumara asked Lord Siva to explain about Jivan Mukti and Videha Mukti.

Before heading to the reply of Lord Siva, let us have a brief introduction to the terms.

Jivan Mukti stands for liberation during the lifetime whereas Videha Mukti refers to the Liberation after death.

Is there any requirement of life for the one who attains liberation? The liberated ones like Sri Adi Sankara and Sri Ramakrishna Paramahamsa lived for some time even after their liberation to lead mankind in the path of liberation. The seers like Sri Adi Sankara are Jivan Muktas.

Lord Siva replies to the query about the nature of Jivan Mukti and Videha Mukti in the fourth chapter of Tejo bind Upanishad.

Who is Jivan Mukta?

He alone is Jivanmukta who realizes that he is superior to three bodies or Dehas. The three dehas or Sareeras are Sthula, Suksma, and Karana.

Sthula Sareera is the gross body otherwise known as Annamaya Kosha. Suksma Sareera is a subtle body also known as Pranamaya kosha. Karana Sareera is the causal body that means Anandamaya Kosha.

Deha, Sareera, and Kosha are Sanskrit equivalents for the body.  Jivanmukta is not confined to the body.    

He is the absolute consciousness. Jivan Mukta realizes Aham Brahmasmi. He fixes himself in the Atman and knows he is beyond Atman. His mind is clear. He is enjoying the everlasting bliss. Jivan Mukta is devoid of any contact, care, and existence.  

He knows that he is neither the body nor the senses nor the ego nor the lust nor the anger.

Not mine are the worldly things, spiritual marks and symbols. Likewise, Not mine are the eyes, mind, ear, nose, tongue, hands. Nor mine are waking, dream, dreamless sleep. Not mine is Turya.

One who realises this is Jivan Mukta.  

For the question of who I am and what belongs to me, the Jivan Mukta rules out everything like this.

Not mine is the space. Not mine is all that yonder. Likewise, Not mine are substances. Not mine is destiny. Nor mine are sins. Not mine is religious merit. Not mines are ablution and austerities. Nor mine are money, material, men and status. Not mine is Atman. Not mine are Gods. Nor mine is liberation. Not mine is passion. Not mine is concentration. Nor mine is the pleasure. Not mine is grief. Not mine are emotions. Nor mine are blood and flesh. Not mine is wisdom. Aham Brahma Asmi. I am the absolute consciousness. I am the indivisible one essence.

One who is realizing this is Jivan Mukta.

Who is Videha Mukta?

He alone is Videha Mukta who has become the Supreme Being and whose Atman is enjoying everlasting peace and perpetual bliss.    

One who finds his Atman in everything and everything in his Atman is Vedha Mukta. One who realizes the nature of Atman is Videha Mukta.

Atman has no beginning, no decay, and no end. Atman is immortal. Furthermore, Atman is absolute bliss, peaceful, pure, and lovely. It has no bondage. Aham Brahmasmi. I am absolute consciousness only.

The difference in knowledge does not affect Atman. The difference in time and place does not affect Atman.

One who is devoid of name and form, who is beyond the state of Turya, who is Atman and accomplished in Atma yoga, and who is devoid of bodily remembrance is Videha Mukta.

He who is enjoying the perpetual bliss of Brahman, who is enjoying the nectar of Brahman, and who has the radiance of Brahman is Vedeha Mukta.

One who is devoid of the multitude of Atmans, who is devoid of the duality of Atman and Paramatman, devoid of liberation and bondage and devoid of joy and like, is the Videha Mukta.

Atman who is devoid of three bodies (gross body, subtle body, and causal body) and who is not affected by the object seen or sound heard is Videha Mukta.

See the Atman with your inner eyes, make yourself satisfied and content with your own Atman, satisfy your Atman, and become a Videha Mukta.

Reference: Sanskrit Text Reference

Related Posts

Classic Yoga