Ishvara Pranidhana: Surrender to God

Ishvara Pranidhana

Introduction According to Yoga Sutra, Ishvara Pranidhana is the fifth Niyama or the ethical code of yogic observances. It is also spelled as Ishvarapranidhana. Let us have an insight into this. Ishvara Pranidhana meaning Literal Meaning The Sanskrit word Ishvara means “the supreme ruler of the universe or simply God.” The term Pranidhana has many … Read moreIshvara Pranidhana: Surrender to God

Svadhyaya: Study of Sacred Texts

Svadhyaya image

Introduction Svadhyaya is the fourth Niyama of Ashtanga Yoga. It is often translated into English as “Self-Study.” It is a part of ancient Indian education system. Let us have a look into this. Svadhyaya Meaning According to the Sanskrit dictionary, Svadhyaya means “to study”, “recite a mantra or Veda or any sacred text”, “repeat … Read moreSvadhyaya: Study of Sacred Texts


Niyama Image

Meaning of Niyama Niyama are the ethical codes of conduct to be observed during the course of yoga. Simply put, Niyamas are “dos” in yoga; whereas Yamas are “don’ts”. In other words, Niyamas are the moral observances. These observances helps one to get mastery over mind and thereby one could avoid distraction. They prepare the … Read moreNiyama

Website Security Test