Tejo Bindu Upanishad – Para Vidya

Tejo Bindu Upanishad is the 37th of 108 Upanishads and forms part of Krishna Yajur Veda. This Upanishad is the bigger one when comparing with the other Upanishads that we have already discussed. It is said that the Upanishad was expounded by Lord Siva. It contains six Chapters.
It states the methods to be assumed for the attainment of Brahman. The seeker should be temperate in food, levelled in anger, should have given up all attachments to the objects of desires, have subjugated the senses, have overcome the pairs of opposites like heat and cold, pain and pleasure, etc., have restricted his egoism and worldly desire for satisfaction, should meditate on Hamsa (I am He) or Paramatman who is the witness of and is beyond the three normal states like Jagrat (waking), Svapna (dreaming) and Susupti (dreamless sleep).
The Upanishad now speaks about Para Vidya, the knowledge of Brahman or God. It explicates what is Brahman or Paramatman.
  • That which has three faces (1.Visva or Jagrat or Waking, 2.Taijasa or Svapna or Dream and 3.Prajna or Susupti or dreamless sleep),
  • That which has three qualities (1.Viraj: by whom everything is created, 2.Hiranyagarbha: celestial egg which gave birth to everything and 3.Antaryamin: that dwells in everything),
  • That which has no form,
  • That which has no bondage of time and space,
  • That which lies beyond the range of speech and mind, but within the reach of Atman,
  • That which exists on its own accord and capable of being grasped as such,
  • That which has no organs making it to a form and yet is beyond the witness of Atman,
  • That which has various kinds of Ananda or happiness that which could not be reflected upon,
  • That which is liberated, imperishable and worthy to be meditated upon,
  • That which is beyond explanation yet permanent, constant and unshakable,
  • That is Brahman or God.
  • That is Brahman which pertains to Arman. That is Brahman which pertains to Paramatman which is capable of being conceived and which is the essence of consciousness.
  • That is Brahman which is the supreme ether.
  • That is Brahman which is voidless, devoid of any other existence and stretches beyond the void.
  • That is Brahman which is meditated upon in the heart.
  • That is Brahman which is neither the meditator, nor the meditation, nor which is meditated upon, but yet is meditated upon.
  • It is Brahman that is void and anything beyond the void.
  • It is Brahman which is inconceivable, unknowable and what is beyond the truth or what is not beyond, only the sages know.
  • It is Brahman which is beyond the states of greed, delusion, pride, fear, desire, anger, sin, heat and cold, hunger and thirst, determination, hesitation, caste pride, bondage, pain, pleasure, repute, and disrepute.


This is Para Vidya.


Reference: sanskritdocuments.org

Leave a Reply