Skip to main content
Yogapedia Top Bloggers Badge

Tejo Bindu Upanishad - Para Vidya

Man in meditation

Tejo Bindu Upanishad is the 37th of 108 Upanishads and forms part of Krishna Yajur Veda. This Upanishad is the bigger one when comparing with the other Upanishads that we have already discussed. It is said that the Upanishad was expounded by Lord Siva. It contains six Chapters.

It states the methods to be assumed for the attainment of Brahman. The seeker should be temperate in food, levelled in anger, should have given up all attachments to the objects of desires, have subjugated the senses, have overcome the pairs of opposites like heat and cold, pain and pleasure, etc., have restricted his egoism and worldly desire for satisfaction, should meditate on Hamsa (I am He) or Paramatman who is the witness of and is beyond the three normal states like Jagrat (waking), Svapna (dreaming) and Susupti (dreamless sleep).

The Upanishad now speaks about Para Vidya, the knowledge of Brahman or God. It explicates what is Brahman or Paramatman.

  • That which has three faces (1.Visva or Jagrat or Waking, 2.Taijasa or Svapna or Dream and 3.Prajna or Susupti or dreamless sleep),
  • That which has three qualities (1.Viraj: by whom everything is created, 2.Hiranyagarbha: celestial egg which gave birth to everything and 3.Antaryamin: that dwells in everything),
  • That which has no form,
  • That which has no bondage of time and space,
  • That which lies beyond the range of speech and mind, but within the reach of Atman,
  • That which exists on its own accord and capable of being grasped as such,
  • That which has no organs making it to a form and yet is beyond the witness of Atman,
  • That which has various kinds of Ananda or happiness that which could not be reflected upon,
  • That which is liberated, imperishable and worthy to be meditated upon,
  • That which is beyond explanation yet permanent, constant and unshakable,
  • That is Brahman or God.
  • That is Brahman which pertains to Arman. That is Brahman which pertains to Paramatman which is capable of being conceived and which is the essence of consciousness.
  • That is Brahman which is the supreme ether.
  • That is Brahman which is voidless, devoid of any other existence and stretches beyond the void.
  • That is Brahman which is meditated upon in the heart.
  • That is Brahman which is neither the meditator, nor the meditation, nor which is meditated upon, but yet is meditated upon.
  • It is Brahman that is void and anything beyond the void.
  • It is Brahman which is inconceivable, unknowable and what is beyond the truth or what is not beyond, only the sages know.
  • It is Brahman which is beyond the states of greed, delusion, pride, fear, desire, anger, sin, heat and cold, hunger and thirst, determination, hesitation, caste pride, bondage, pain, pleasure, repute, and disrepute.

This is Para Vidya.




Dhyana Bindu Upanishad

Dhyana Bindu Upanishad is the 39th of 108 Upanishads. It contains 106 verses and is attached to Krishna Yajur Veda whereas a smaller version of 26 verses was found attached to Atharva Veda. This Upanishad and Yoga Tattva Upanishad contains some common verses.

The mountainous sins accumulated over many births can be destroyed by Dhyana Yoga (Meditation). Nobody is found to have destroyed the sins by any other means except Meditation. Meditation is the only way to annihilate the sins.

Pranava (Om) is the Supreme Bijakshara (seed letter) with Nada (sound) and Bindu (dot). When the Nada dissolves, the soundless residuum (Brahman) remains. In other words, Pranava (Om) is eternal and Brahman is transcending the Pranava. One who knows the transcending Brahman knows everything without a doubt.

A hundred thousandth part of awn of a grain of paddy is the Jiva-Chaitanya (Consciousness of Atman). A hundred thousandth part of Jiva-Chaitanya is Eswara-Chaitanya (Consciousness of Brahman).  A fifty-tho…

Yoga Tattva Upanishad

Yoga Tattva Upanishad is the Upanishad of yoga philosophy. It is the forty-first Upanishad among the 108 Upanishads and forms part of Krishna Yajur Veda. It contains 142 verses.

I (says the author of the Upanishad) hereby present the philosophy of yoga (yoga tattva) for the benefit of yogis. By hearing and learning this yoga, the yogi will get released himself from all the sins.

The great yogi by name Vishnu, the Supreme Being who is known for his spiritual austerities, stands as the beacon of light in the path of yoga tattva. The Pitamaha (Pitamaha means grandfather. It here refers to Lord Brahman, the deity) approached Lord Jagannath (the other name for Lord Vishnu. Jagannath means the Lord of the universe) paid him respects and asked him to explain the philosophy of Astanga Yoga (yoga of eight limbs or stages).

“Let me explain the philosophy,” said Lord Hrisikesha (the other name of Lord Vishnu. It means the Lord of senses). All people are ensnared in the trap of worldly pains and pl…

Brahma Vidya Upanishad

Brahma Vidya Upanishad is the 40th among the 108 Upanishads. It contains 110 verses and found attached in Krishna Yajur Veda. Yet another version of this Upanishad containing 14 verses is found attached in Atharva Veda.
Brahma Vidya is the knowledge of Brahman. Hence this Upanishad deals with the knowledge of Brahman.
I declare the secret of Brahma Vidya, in the name Vishnu who commands over the marvelous deeds. The supreme science of Brahman is the monosyllable Om, as declared by the expounders of Vedanta.
I declare the body, seat, and durations of Om.  It includes the three Gods (Brahma, Vishnu, and Maheswara), the three worlds (Bhur, Bhuvar, and Suvar), the three Vedas (Rig, Yajur, and Sama), the three Fires (Garha-patya, Dakshina, and Ahavaniya), the three Matras (A, U, and M), and the Ardha Matra.
The body of Pranava The body of the first Matra “A” is Rig Veda, Garha-patya (Fire), Prithvi (Earth), and Lord Brahman, the deity. (In Sanskrit, the word Brahman has two connotations. One is…