Skip to main content
Yogapedia Top Bloggers Badge

Tejo Bindu Upanishad - Jeevan Mukti and Videha Mukti

Meditation image

Lord Kumara asked Lord Siva to explain about Jeevan Mukti and Videha Mukti. Before heading to the reply of Lord Siva, we will see what the terms are referred to.

Jeevan Mukti stands for the liberation during the lifetime whereas Videha Mukti refers to the Liberation after the death. Why life is required for anyone who is liberated? The liberated ones like Sri Adi Sankara and Sri Ramakrishna Paramahamsa lived for some time even after their liberation to lead the mankind in the path of liberation. The seers like Sri Adi Sankara are called Jeevan Muktas.

Lord Siva replies to the query about the nature of Jeevan Mukti and Videha Mukti in the fourth chapter of Tejo bind Upanishad.

Jeevan Mukta
He alone is Jeevan mukta who realises that he is superior to three bodies or dehas. The three dehas or sareeras are Sthula, Suksma and Karana. Sthula sareera is gross body otherwise known as Annamaya Kosha. Suksma sareera is subtle body also known as Pranamaya kosha. Karana sareera is the causal body or Anandamaya Kosha. Deha, sareera and kosha are Sanskrit equivalents for the body.  Jeevan mukta is not confined to the bodies.

He is the absolute consciousness. He is one who realises Aham Brahma Asmi. He is fixed himself in the Atman and knows he is beyond Atman. His mind is clear. He is enjoying the everlasting bliss. He is devoid of any contact, care and existence.

He knows that he is neither the body nor the senses nor the ego nor the lust nor the anger.

“Not mine are the worldly things, spiritual marks and symbols. Not mine are the eyes, mind, ear, nose, tongue, hands. Not mine is waking, dream, dreamless sleep. Not mine is Turya”. One who realises like this is Jeevan Mukta.

For the question of who I am and what belongs to me, the Jeevan Mukta rules out everything like this. “Not mine is the space. Not mine is all that yonder. Not mine are substances. Not mine is destiny. Not mine are sins. Not mine is religious merit. Not mines are ablution and austerities. Not mine are money, material, men and status. Not mine is Atman. Not mine are Gods. Not mine is liberation. Not mine is passion. Not mine is concentration. Not mine is the pleasure. Not mine is grief. Not mine are emotions. Not mine are blood and flesh. Not mine is wisdom. Aham Brahma Asmi. I am the absolute consciousness. I am the indivisible one essence.” One who is realising like this is Jeevan mukta.

Videha Mukta
He alone is Videha Mukta who has become the Supreme Being and whose Atman is enjoying everlasting peace and perpetual bliss.

One who finds his Atman in everything and everything in his Atman is Vedha Mukta. One who realises the nature of Atman is Videha Mukta. Atman has no beginning, no decay and no end. Atman is immortal. Atman is absolute bliss, peaceful, pure and lovely. It has no bondage. Aham Brahma Asmi. I am absolute consciousness only.

The difference in knowledge does not affect Atman. The difference in time and place does not affect Atman.

One who is devoid of name and form, who is beyond the state of Turya, who is Atman and accomplished in Atma yoga and who is devoid of bodily remembrance is Videha Mukta.

One who is enjoying the perpetual bliss of Brahman, who is enjoying the nectar of Brahman and who has the radiance of Brahman is VedehaMuktaa.

One who is devoid of the multitude of Atmans, who is devoid of the duality of Atman and Paramatman, devoid of liberation and bondage and devoid of joy and like, is the vedeha mukta.

Atman who is devoid of gross body, subtle body and casual body and who is not affected by the object seen or sound heard is videha mukta.

See the Atman with your inner eyes, make yourself satisfied and content with your own Atman, satisfy your Atman and become a videha mukta.



Dhyana Bindu Upanishad

Dhyana Bindu Upanishad is the 39th of 108 Upanishads. It contains 106 verses and is attached to Krishna Yajur Veda whereas a smaller version of 26 verses was found attached to Atharva Veda. This Upanishad and Yoga Tattva Upanishad contains some common verses.

The mountainous sins accumulated over many births can be destroyed by Dhyana Yoga (Meditation). Nobody is found to have destroyed the sins by any other means except Meditation. Meditation is the only way to annihilate the sins.

Pranava (Om) is the Supreme Bijakshara (seed letter) with Nada (sound) and Bindu (dot). When the Nada dissolves, the soundless residuum (Brahman) remains. In other words, Pranava (Om) is eternal and Brahman is transcending the Pranava. One who knows the transcending Brahman knows everything without a doubt.

A hundred thousandth part of awn of a grain of paddy is the Jiva-Chaitanya (Consciousness of Atman). A hundred thousandth part of Jiva-Chaitanya is Eswara-Chaitanya (Consciousness of Brahman).  A fifty-tho…

Yoga Tattva Upanishad

Yoga Tattva Upanishad is the Upanishad of yoga philosophy. It is the forty-first Upanishad among the 108 Upanishads and forms part of Krishna Yajur Veda. It contains 142 verses.

I (says the author of the Upanishad) hereby present the philosophy of yoga (yoga tattva) for the benefit of yogis. By hearing and learning this yoga, the yogi will get released himself from all the sins.

The great yogi by name Vishnu, the Supreme Being who is known for his spiritual austerities, stands as the beacon of light in the path of yoga tattva. The Pitamaha (Pitamaha means grandfather. It here refers to Lord Brahman, the deity) approached Lord Jagannath (the other name for Lord Vishnu. Jagannath means the Lord of the universe) paid him respects and asked him to explain the philosophy of Astanga Yoga (yoga of eight limbs or stages).

“Let me explain the philosophy,” said Lord Hrisikesha (the other name of Lord Vishnu. It means the Lord of senses). All people are ensnared in the trap of worldly pains and pl…

Brahma Vidya Upanishad

Brahma Vidya Upanishad is the 40th among the 108 Upanishads. It contains 110 verses and found attached in Krishna Yajur Veda. Yet another version of this Upanishad containing 14 verses is found attached in Atharva Veda.
Brahma Vidya is the knowledge of Brahman. Hence this Upanishad deals with the knowledge of Brahman.
I declare the secret of Brahma Vidya, in the name Vishnu who commands over the marvelous deeds. The supreme science of Brahman is the monosyllable Om, as declared by the expounders of Vedanta.
I declare the body, seat, and durations of Om.  It includes the three Gods (Brahma, Vishnu, and Maheswara), the three worlds (Bhur, Bhuvar, and Suvar), the three Vedas (Rig, Yajur, and Sama), the three Fires (Garha-patya, Dakshina, and Ahavaniya), the three Matras (A, U, and M), and the Ardha Matra.
The body of Pranava The body of the first Matra “A” is Rig Veda, Garha-patya (Fire), Prithvi (Earth), and Lord Brahman, the deity. (In Sanskrit, the word Brahman has two connotations. One is…