Skip to main content


Yogapedia Top Bloggers Badge

Tat Tvam Asi

Tat Tvam Asi is one of the Mahavakyas of Vedanta. It is found in Chandogya Upanishad of Sama Veda. To understand this Mahavakya, one must read this Upanishad in full. The core teaching of the sixth chapter of the Upanishad is the description of this Mahavakya.  MeaningThe Sanskrit word 'Tat' means 'That'. 'Tvam' means 'You'. 'Asi' equals to 'are'. Hence this Mahavakya means 'That You Are' or 'That Thou Art' or simply 'You are that'.'That' indicates Brahman or the Supreme Being. 'You' refers to 'you' as a seeker. You are Brahman, the Supreme Being is the indicated meaning of this Mahavakya.

Kada Upanishad defines 'Tat' as below.
yaḥ pūrvaṃ tapaso jātamadbhyaḥ pūrvamajāyata । guhāṃ praviśya tiṣṭhantaṃ yo bhūtebhirvyapaśyata।etadvai tat॥2.1.6॥He who was born, by the result of penance,  before Pancha Bhutas like water were born and who has taken abode in the heart of all beings, is the see…

Aham Brahmasmi

Aham Brahmasmi is one of the Mahavakyas of Vedanta. Mahavakyas are the concise expression of the core tenets of Vedanta. Mahavakyas may be understood as the great aphorisms of Vedanta. 

The four Mahavakyas are Prajnanam BrahmaTat Tvam AsiAyam Atma Brahma, and Aham Brahmasmi. According to Guru Gita, Prajnanam Brahma is Upadesa Vakya or a statement of instruction. Tat Tvam Asi is Adesa Vakya or command statement. Ayam Atma Brahma is Abhyasa Vakya or Practice statement and Aham Brahmasmi is Anubhava Vakya or statement of experience. Hence we should understand the meaning of Mahavakyas in this context.
Aham denotes the word "I". Brahman is the supreme reality of existence. Asmi is "am". Hence the meaning of this Mahavakya is I am Brahman. The word Brahman has more than one meaning.  One meaning indicates a person belongs to the caste of the Brahmin community. Another meaning of the word Brahman indicates the deity of creation who is one of the three deities of…

Yoga Upanishads

What are Upanishads?Before knowing Yoga Upanishads, Let us see what are Upanishads. Upanishads are the highest wisdom of mankind. They are the very essence of the Vedas. In the words of Sri Aurobindo, they are the supreme work of the Indian Mind and a record of the deepest spiritual experiences. 
On the tree of Indian wisdom, there is no fairer flower than the Upanishads and no finer fruit than the Vedanta philosophy. 
-Paul Deussen, Outline of the Vedanta System
It is said that each Upanishad contains at least one hidden doctrine. Most of the Upanishads are in the form of the dialogue between a disciple and Guru or God. On request of the disciple, Guru clears the doubts of the disciple by way of discourse on a specific religious dogma. Hence Upanishads are the spiritual teachings by the enlightened. 
The Sanskrit term Upanishad means 'sitting near or under':upa=near, and shad=to sit. Sitting near or under the enlightened for getting wisdom is the most commonly accepted interpreta…

Varaha Upanishad

Varaha Upanishad is often called Varahopanishad. It is the ninety-eighth Upanishad of 108 Upanishads of Muktika Order. It is attached to Krishna Yajur Veda. It contains 251 verses in five chapters.
Chapter 1Tattvas
The Great Sage Ribhu performed penance for twelve years as calculated by the standards of Devas. Lord Vishnu appeared before him in the form of a boar and asked the sage to receive the boon for the performance of the penance. 
The Sage after paying the due respects and said, "Lord! I am not in pursuit of any worldly desires which I don't even dream of. The Vedas, epics, other scriptures, Lord Brahman and other Gods say that the mere knowledge of your form gives liberation. Hence, impart me with Brahma-Vidya that explains your form"
"Be it so". 
Lord Vishnu continued. Some argue that there are only 24 Tattvas while others say 36 Tattvas. Some others say there are 96 Tattvas. 
Twenty-four TattvasThe organs of perceptions are five. They are called Jnanendirya…