Skip to main content


Yogapedia Top Bloggers Badge

Varaha Upanishad

Varaha Upanishad is often called Varahopanishad. It is the ninety-eighth Upanishad of 108 Upanishads of Muktika Order. It is attached to Krishna Yajur Veda. It contains 251 verses in five chapters.
Chapter 1Tattvas
The Great Sage Ribhu performed penance for twelve years as calculated by the standards of Devas. Lord Vishnu appeared before him in the form of a boar and asked the sage to receive the boon for the performance of the penance. 
The Sage after paying the due respects and said, "Lord! I am not in pursuit of any worldly desires which I don't even dream of. The Vedas, epics, other scriptures, Lord Brahman and other Gods say that the mere knowledge of your form gives liberation. Hence, impart me with Brahma-Vidya that explains your form"
"Be it so". 
Lord Vishnu continued. Some argue that there are only 24 Tattvas while others say 36 Tattvas. Some others say there are 96 Tattvas. 
Twenty-four TattvasThe organs of perceptions are five. They are called Jnanendirya…

Mahavakya Upanishad

Mahavakya Upanishad is the 92nd Upanishad of 108 Upanishads of Muktika Upanishad Order and forms part of Atharva Veda. It deals with Hamsa Vidya and the concepts that relate to Atman, Anatman and Paramatman. It is a minor Upanishad containing twelve verses.
Lord Brahma begins to discourse: I present now the highest Upanishad. It is the profound secret and it should not be imparted to unworthy people. It should be imparted only to those of consistent behavior, having their tendency turned inward and seeking this knowledge from their Guru.
The aspirant who is intent on acquiring the supreme knowledge should withdraw himself from the eyes of wisdom that understands the non-existence of the outer phenomenal world which leads from bondage to liberation and from the eyes of ignorance that believes the existence of the phenomenal world which leads to bondage.
The reason for the belief in the existence of the phenomenal world is attributed to the dominance of Tamas which is the darkness that hid…

Darshana Upanishad

IntroductionDarshana Upanishad is also known as Darshanopanishad, Yoga Darshana Upanishad, or Jabala Darshana Upanishad. It is one of the twenty Yoga Upanishads and the ninetieth of 108 Upanishads of Muktika Upanishad order and found attached to Sama Veda. This Upanishad consists of 109 verses in ten chapters and mainly deals with Ashtanga Yoga.
Chapter 1Ashtanga Yoga
This Upanishad is the dialogue between the great Sage Dattatreya who is the four-handed Maha Vishnu himself and who is the king of yoga territory and his devoted disciple and the great sage Sankriti. 
When the sage Dattatreya was alone, Sankriti approached his Guru and saluted him with folded hands with great modesty and asked him to explain in detail the yoga of eight limbs, the knowledge of which would make him become a Jivan-Mukta.
The Great sage starts to explain the yoga of eight limbs:
Yama, Niyama, Asana, Pranayama, Pratyahara, Dharana, Dhyana and Samadhi are the eight limbs of Yoga.
The ten types of Yama are Ahimsa…