Skip to main content


Yogapedia Top Bloggers Badge

Advaya Taraka Upanishad

Advaya Taaraka Upanishad is otherwise known as Advayatarakopanishad. It is the 53rd Upanishad of Muktika Order. It is one among the 19 Upanishads of Shukla Yajur Veda and one among the 20 Yoga Upanishads. It is a notable fact the It is composed of prose and poetic verses dislike other Upanishads which are composed of poetic verses only.
Advaya in Sanskrit indicates the oneness or the non-dual.  Taaraka indicates rescue, liberate or deliver. Advaya Taaraka Upanishad means the Upanishad of the non-dual that liberates.
For the sake of the aspirant who has controlled his senses and is having the six qualities of Sama (mental equilibrium), Dama (Self-control over actions), Uparati (tolerance), Titikaa (happiness), Samadhana (one-pointedness)  and Shraddha (unconditional faith),  we hereby explain Advaya Taaraka Upanishad.
What is Taaraka?
Taaraka is named as such because it enables one to dispel the fear of being stuck in the cycle of prenatal existence, birth, old age and death. Abnegating al…

Mandala Brahmana Upanishad

#Mandala-Brahmana-Upanishad is the one of the twenty Yoga Upanishads and belongs to Sukla Yajur Veda. It is the forty-eighth Upanishad of 108 Muktika order. Mandala means sphere. This Upanishad speaks about the meeting of Yajnavalkya, the great sage, with Lord Aditya, the Sun God at Aditya Mandala (Sphere of Sun or the world of Sun). Hence this Upanishad is called by this name.
Part 1
The Sage Yajnavalkya went to Aditya Loka and asked the Sun God to explain the nature of Atman.
Lord Aditya replied:-
The means to attain this knowledge is #Astanga-Yoga that starts with Yama (Yoga of eight limbs) along with the Jnana (the realisation of the truth).
#Yama The four-fold Yamas are
The mastery of overheat, cold, food and Sleep,Permanent Quietude without reaction under all circumstances,Undisturbed mind andControl of senses over the objects.

#NiyamaThe Niyamas are ninefold: Devotion to Guru,Involvement in the path of truth,Experience of the real blissful stuff (Brahman),Satisfaction over such experie…

Yoga Chudamani Upanishad

Chudamani is a gem on the crown. The name, Yoga Chudamani Upanishad, suggests the meaning that it is the top-most scripture on yoga. It is the forty-sixth of one hundred and eight Upanishads of Muktika-Upanishad order in which it was described by Lord Sri Rama to Lord Sri Hanuman. It is found attached to the Sama Veda and contains 121 verses, expounding mainly the Sadanga Yoga, the yoga of six limbs.
I, the Author of the Upanishad says, hereby proclaim the profound secret of Yoga Chudamani sought with esteem by the adepts of yoga, which bestows success in the attainment of liberation.
Sadanga Yoga Asana (posture), Pranayama (Balancing the Prana), Pratyahara (Cessation of Sense Organs), Dharana (fixing the mind on a single object), Dhyana (Meditation) and Samadhi (mind-less meditation) are the six limbs of yoga. By importance, Siddhasana is the first one and Padmasana is the second.
How Success will come unto him who does not know the six Chakras, sixteen Adharas, three goals and five Bhu…

Tri Sikhi Brahmana Upanishad

Tri-Sikhi means three tufts. Tri-Sikhi Brahmana Upanishad literally means the Upanishad about the Brahmin with three tufts. It is the forty-fourth Upanishad among 108 Upanishads and found attached to Sukla Yajur Veda. A Brahmin of three tufts once went to Adithya-Loka (the world of Sun) and asked the Sun God four questions. What is the body?What is life?What is the prime cause?What is Atman (Self)?
He replied that all of them are Lord Siva only. He is the Supreme Being, absolute bliss, pure and eternal. He is the indivisible-one-essence but appears as divided like a molten mass of iron appears in different forms. He appears as many because he is tinged with illusion and existence.

From Brahman, Avyakta (Void) came into existence. From Avyakta,Mahat (Masses) came into existence. From Mahat, Agamkara (Self-consciousness) came into existence. Out of Agamkara, five Tanmatra-s (Sabta, Sparsa, Ruba, Rasa and Ganta) came.From Tanmatra-s, Pancha Mahabhuta-s (Earth, Water, Fire, Air and Ether) cam…