Skip to main content


Yogapedia Top Bloggers Badge

Nada Bindu Upanishad

Nada Bindu Upanishad is the 38th of 108 Upanishads and forms part of the Rig Veda. Nada is the sound heard in the ear during deep meditation. Bindu means the dot. It also means the drop, the sperm and the starting point. The sound of Om is the starting point of the cosmos. Cosmos begins out of Bindu and dissolves into bindu. Nada Bindu Upanishad is the philosophy of the sound Om.
Vairaja Pranava Vairaja means the son of Virat Purusha. Virat Purusha is the Brahman in the form of the whole universe. Pranava is the general name for various versions of mantra Om. Hence Vairaja Pranava is a specific version of Om. The Upanishad starts with the explanation of the Vairaja Pranava.
Vairaja Pranava, the Upanishad says, is the king of birds. The right wing of the bird is the letter “A”. The left wing is the letter “U”. The tail is the letter “M”. Its head is Ardha-matra (half-matra).Its leg and terminal point are three Gunas.(Sattva, Rajas and Tamas). Its Body is Truth. Its right eye is right c…

Tejo Bindu Upanishad – Sat Chit Ananda

In the Sixth chapter of Tejo Bindu Upanishad, the Sage Ribhu continues to describe the nature of Atman.
Sat-Chit-Ananda The Atman/Self is Sat-Chit-Ananda. Sat is the very existence. It exists beyond the barriers of time and space. It is absolute, unchangeable and unqualified. The Chit means Consciousness. It can be perceivable, understood, and explainable. It could not be visible and touchable. Ananda is the Ecstasy. It is the never-ending Bliss. The joy that has no disturbances is the Ananda. Sat Chit Ananda is Existence, Consciousness and Ecstasy. It is the nature of Atman.
Atman is Brahman Atman is not “I”.  It is not “Thou”. It is not “any other”. It is Brahman only. Except for Atman, nothing exists. Atman only is the real. I am that Atman. I am that Brahman. My form is the whole universe. There is no time or space where Atman does not exist. Nothing exists beyond me.
Understand that you are the Brahman to drop the identity of the body. You are not this body. If it is realised, t…

Tejo Bindu Upanishad – Atman and Anatman

The fifth chapter of Tejo Bindu Upanishad is the dialogue between Sage Ribhu and his disciple Nidagha. Ribhu Gita was a part of the epic Siva Rahasya like Bhagavat Gita was the part of the epic Mahabharata.
Initially, Ribhu Gita was taught to the sage Ribhu and Lord Kumara simultaneously by Lord Siva. Later, the sage Ribhu taught this to the Sage Nidagha. Ribhu Gita is available in Siva Rahasya as the dialogue between the sage Ribhu and his disciple Nidagha. The context of Tejo Bindu Upanishad and Ribhu Gita are the same. Non-duality or Advaita is the message of the both.

Nidagha asked the sage Ribhu to explain the distinction between Atman and Anatman( that which is not Atman).
The sage Ribhu replied:
Atman is the cause of all effects and at the same time, he is devoid of causes and effects. Atman is the pure consciousness. He is full of bliss and radiance. He is full of Nada. Nada means the sound that could be heard in deep meditation. Atman is beyond Nada and time. Atman is imperi…

Tejo Bindu Upanishad - Jeevan Mukti and Videha Mukti

Lord Kumara asked Lord Siva to explain about Jeevan Mukti and Videha Mukti. Before heading to the reply of Lord Siva, we will see what the terms are referred to.
Jeevan Mukti stands for the liberation during the lifetime whereas Videha Mukti refers to the Liberation after the death. Why life is required for anyone who is liberated? The liberated ones like Sri Adi Sankara and Sri Ramakrishna Paramahamsa lived for some time even after their liberation to lead the mankind in the path of liberation. The seers like Sri Adi Sankara are called Jeevan Muktas.
Lord Siva replies to the query about the nature of Jeevan Mukti and Videha Mukti in the fourth chapter of Tejo bind Upanishad.
Jeevan Mukta He alone is Jeevan mukta who realises that he is superior to three bodies or dehas. The three dehas or sareeras are Sthula, Suksma and Karana. Sthula sareera is gross body otherwise known as Annamaya Kosha. Suksma sareera is subtle body also known as Pranamaya kosha. Karana sareera is the causal body…

Tejo Bindu Upanishad - Aham Brahma asmi

Lord Kumara asked Lord Siva “How to attain Self-realisation?”
The reply of Lord Siva was the third chapter of the Upanishad.
I am the Brahman. I am the absolute bliss, absolute consciousness and the Supreme Being who is tranquillized, eternal and everlasting. ( "I " here does not denote Lord Siva alone, it is used in a wider sense of Chinmatra.
Lord Siva continues.
I have no Aham-hara. I have no "I" with me. I am devoid of anything. I am the ether of consciousness or CitAkasa.
I am Turya only. (Turya is the fourth state of Atman beyond Jagrat or waking, Swapna or dreaming and Susupti or dreamless sleep).
I am the pure, absolute love, absolute knowledge and happiness. I am desire-less, disease-less, change-less and without any attachment.
I am imperishable and indivisible one essence. I am boundary-less. I have no limits and I am also the core of the core.
I am beyond the scope of Speech and mind. I am the Atman or self. I am the Paramatman or Supreme Self.
I have …

Tejo Bindu Upanishad – Sarvam Chinmatra mevahi

The second chapter of the Upanishad is the conversation between Lord Siva and Lord Kumara who asked Lord Siva to explain about Chinmatra or the partless one essence which is indivisible.
Lord Siva replies.
The Chinmatra is the visible, the world, the existence, Atman or Self, the mantra and its action, knowledge, water, Earth, Akasa, the books and the three Vedas, the Brahman or Supreme Being, the vow of austerity, the Jivatman, one that has no origin (unborn), Lord Brahma, Lord Vishnu, Lord Rudra, I , Atman, Guru, inference, radiance, body, Manas, Chitta, Pleasure, Vidya, imperishable, transcendent, supreme, the gross, the subtle, that ought to be preferred, everything and there is nothing other than Chinmatra. Nothing. It is ought to be known. It is I. It is you. It is mysterious. It is the knower. It is the knowledge. Mother, Father, Brother, Husband, Sutra, Viraj. It is the head, the body. It is within and it is without. It is complete. It is the nectar. Clan. Home. Sun. Moon an…

Tejo Bindu Upanishad – Pancha Dasanga Yoga - Samadhi

The yogi should practice the fifteen limbs of yoga until there will be the manifestation of Brahman on its own accord through inference. Having reached that state, the enlightened yogi will be free from all means employed. He becomes a Raja Yogi whose radiance is beyond the range of mind and speech. It is the state that could not be explained by words or understandable. It can only be realized by the experience.
Impediments to Samadhi The Upanishad lists the impediments that are powerfully emerging while Samadhi is practiced. ·The want of application ·Lethargy, Dullness, and Stupor ·The longing for enjoyment ·Confusion ·False dignity ·Sweating ·Absent-mindedness ·Obstacles like these. These obstacles can be overcome with the knowledge of Brahman through inference.
Chitta Virittis Chitta or mind take Virittis or modifications. Through Bhava Virittis (modifications due to worldly affairs), the yogi gets involved in worldly affairs. Through Soonya Virittis (without modifications), he gets into th…