Skip to main content

Tri Sikhi Brahmana Upanishad

Tri-Sikhi means three tufts. Tri-Sikhi Brahmana Upanishad literally means the Upanishad about the Brahmin with three tufts. It is the forty-fourth Upanishad among 108 Upanishads and found attached to Sukla Yajur Veda. A Brahmin of three tufts once went to Adithya-Loka (the world of Sun) and asked the Sun God four questions. What is the body?What is life?What is the prime cause?What is Atman (Self)?
He replied that all of them are Lord Siva only. He is the Supreme Being, absolute bliss, pure and eternal. He is the indivisible-one-essence but appears as divided like a molten mass of iron appears in different forms. He appears as many because he is tinged with illusion and existence.

From Brahman, Avyakta (Void) came into existence. From Avyakta,Mahat (Masses) came into existence. From Mahat, Agamkara (Self-consciousness) came into existence. Out of Agamkara, five Tanmatra-s (Sabta, Sparsa, Ruba, Rasa and Ganta) came.From Tanmatra-s, Pancha Mahabhuta-s (Earth, Water, Fire, Air and Ether) cam…

Tejo Bindu Upanishad – Sat Chit Ananda


In the Sixth chapter of Tejo Bindu Upanishad, the Sage Ribhu continues to describe the nature of Atman.


The Atman/Self is Sat-Chit-Ananda. Sat is the very existence. It exists beyond the barriers of time and space. It is absolute, unchangeable and unqualified. The Chit means Consciousness. It can be perceivable, understood, and explainable. It could not be visible and touchable. Ananda is the Ecstasy. It is the never-ending Bliss. The joy that has no disturbances is the Ananda. Sat Chit Ananda is Existence, Consciousness and Ecstasy. It is the nature of Atman.

Atman is Brahman

Atman is not “I”.  It is not “Thou”. It is not “any other”. It is Brahman only. Except for Atman, nothing exists. Atman only is the real. I am that Atman. I am that Brahman. My form is the whole universe. There is no time or space where Atman does not exist. Nothing exists beyond me.

Understand that you are the Brahman to drop the identity of the body. You are not this body. If it is realised, there will be no pain of whatsoever. You become Sat-chit-Ananda. You will enjoy the glory of absolute consciousness.

By understanding Aham Brahma Asmi, destroy your egoism. Mediate on Aham Brahma Asmi. Meditate on with the understanding that you are the Brahman. You are the Brahman without any doubt. Thus ends this Upanishad.

Ribhu Gita and Tejo Bindu Upanishad.

The teachings of Ribhu Gita and Tejo Bindu Upanishad are the same. One who attained Salvation through these teachings is Sri Ramanar.  He got enlightened by making the query “Who am I?”

Am I this Body? No.

Am I the mind? No.

Am I the Atman confined to this body and mind? No.

Then Who am I?.

I am the transcending Atman. I am the Brahman. I am the Brahman only. Aham Brahma Asmi.

The Four Great Aphorisms.

There are four great aphorisms or Maha Vakyas found in Ribhu Gita and Tejo Bindu Upanishad. These aphorisms are the very basics of Hinduism. The chapter twenty-eight of Ribhu Gita was dedicated for the explanation of these aphorisms. They are the essence of four Vedas. The four great aphorisms are
  1. Prajnanam Brahma: The supreme science is Brahman. The absolute knowledge to be known is Brahman. This aphorism appears at the end of Rig Veda.
  2. Aham Brahma Asmi: I am the Brahman. This appears at the end of Yajur Veda.
  3. Tat Tvam Asi: Thou art that. You are that only. You are Brahman only. This aphorism appears at the end of Sama Veda.
  4. Ayam Atma Brahma: This Atman is Brahman. This appears at the end of Atharva Veda.

The subject of Tejo Bindu Upanishad is the four aphorisms and their explanations. One who studies this Upanishad will get the knowledge of four Vedas.

In addition to the four Maha Vakyas, there is yet another aphorism worthy of a mention here is Sarvam Chinmatra mevahi. You can read more about this here.

EzineArticles Cartoon


Popular posts from this blog

Brahma Vidya Upanishad

Brahma Vidya Upanishad is the 40th among the 108 Upanishads. It contains 110 verses and found attached in Krishna Yajur Veda. Yet another version of this Upanishad containing 14 verses is found attached in Atharva Veda.
Brahma Vidya is the knowledge of Brahman. Hence this Upanishad deals with the knowledge of Brahman.
I declare the secret of Brahma Vidya, in the name Vishnu who commands over the marvellous deeds. The supreme science of Brahman is the monosyllable Om, as declared by the expounders of Vedanta.
I declare the body, seat and durations of Om.  It includes the three Gods (Brahma, Vishnu, and Maheswara), the three worlds (Bhur, Bhuvar, and Suvar), the three Vedas (Rig, Yajur, and Sama), the three Fires (Garha-patya, Dakshina, and Ahavaniya), the three Matras (A, U, and M), and the Ardha Matra.
The body of Pranava The body of the first Matra “A” is Rig Veda, Garha-patya (Fire), Prithivi (Earth), and Lord Brahman, the deity. (In Sanskrit, the word Brahman has two connotations. One i…

Yoga Tattva Upanishad

Yoga Tattva Upanishad is the Upanishad of yoga philosophy. It is the forty-first Upanishad among the 108 Upanishads and forms part of Krishna Yajur Veda. It contains 142 verses.

I (says the author of the Upanishad) hereby present the philosophy of yoga (yoga tattva) for the benefit of yogis. By hearing and learning this yoga, the yogi will get released himself from all the sins.

The great yogi by name of Vishnu, the Supreme Being who is known for his spiritual austerities, stands as the beacon of light in the path of yoga tattva. The Pitamaha (Pitamaha means grandfather. It here refers to Lord Brahman, the deity) approached Lord Jagannath (the other name for Lord Vishnu. Jagannath means the Lord of the universe) paid him due respects and asked him to explain the philosophy of Astanga Yoga (yoga of eight limbs or stages).

“Let me explain the philosophy,” said Lord Hrisikesha (the other name of Lord Vishnu. It means the Lord of senses). All people are ensnared in the trap of worldly pains…

Dhyana Bindu Upanishad

Dhyana Bindu Upanishad is the 39th of 108 Upanishads. It contains 106 verses and is attached to Sama Veda whereas a smaller version of 26 verses was found attached in Atharva Veda. This Upanishad and Yoga Tattva upanishad contains some common verses.

The mountainous sins accumulated over many births can be destroyed by Dhyana Yoga (Meditation). Nobody is found to have destroyed the sins by any other means except Meditation. Meditation is the only way to annihilate the sins.

Pranava (Om) is the Supreme Bijakshara (seed letter) with Nada (sound) and Bindu (dot). When the Nada dissolves the soundless residuum (Brahman) remains. In other words, Pranava (Om) is eternal and Brahman is transcending the Pranava. One who knows the transcending Brahman knows everything without a doubt.

A hundred thousandth part of awn of a grain of paddy is the Jiva-Chaitanya (Consciousness of Atman). A hundred thousandth part of Jiva-Chaitanya is Eswara-Chaitanya (Consciousness of Brahman).  A fifty-thousandth pa…