Skip to main content
Yogapedia Top Bloggers Badge

Nada Bindu Upanishad

Meditation women

Nada Bindu Upanishad is the 38th of 108 Upanishads and forms part of the Rig Veda. Nada is the sound heard in the ear during deep meditation. Bindu means the dot. It also means the drop, the sperm and the starting point. The sound of Om is the starting point of the cosmos. Cosmos begins out of Bindu and dissolves into bindu. Nada Bindu Upanishad is the philosophy of the sound Om.

Vairaja Pranava
Vairaja means the son of Virat Purusha. Virat Purusha is the Brahman in the form of the whole universe. Pranava is the general name for various versions of mantra Om. Hence Vairaja Pranava is a specific version of Om. The Upanishad starts with the explanation of the Vairaja Pranava.

Vairaja Pranava,  the Upanishad says, is the king of birds. The right wing of the bird is the letter “A”. The left wing is the letter “U”. The tail is the letter “M”. Its head is Ardha-matra (half-matra).  Its leg and terminal point are three Gunas.(Sattva, Rajas and Tamas). Its Body is Truth. Its right eye is right conducts. Its left eye is wrong conducts. Its feet, knees, Hip, navel, heart, throat and the point between the brows are the seven realms or planes of existence.

Vairaja Vidya
The meditation technique explained here is Vairaja Vidya. One can get rid of all his sins through the Mastery of Vairaja Vidya.

The forms of Pranava are two. One is four matra Pranava and the other one is twelve matra Pranava. One Matra is a time scale of four seconds.

Four Matra Pranava
Relates to
Agni (Fire)
Vayu (Air)
Ardha Matra
Varuna (Water)

This is Omkara. Those who do not understand this can make a dharana (deep meditation) for a better understanding.

Twelve Matra Pranava
The Upanishad gives a distinctive name for each of the twelve Matras and the place where the Practitioner will go, if he parts his life at any of the twelve Matras.
Next Incarnation
An emperor
In the mahar loka
In the Jano loka
In the Tapo loka

Maha Vairaja Vidya
One who is accomplished in Vairaja Vidya will be eligible to opt for Maha Vairaja Vidya. His mind should be fixed on the Brahman. Having set aside ignorance and attachment, he should become consciousness alone. He will attain ecstasy and enjoy the never-ending bliss.

When Atman starts knowing the truth, the results of the past actions have already begun. There will not be any escape from the results since the results have already begun. But after realisation, there is no 'body' or 'mind' consciousness, Karma will become non-existence. The results will not bind the Atman. It is like wrongly identifying rope as a snake. After realising the rope as mere rope, the snake disappears. After realisation, Atman identifies itself as Brahman and not as a mere body. Then karma will cease to exist. The absence of karma will result in absence of further incarnations.

Vairaja Vidya – Modus Operandi
  1.   Assume  Siddhasana
  2.  Assume Vaisnavi Mudra: Keep your  eyes wide open without twinkling
  3.  Listen to the sound of the right ear. For the first time, many sounds may be heard. Practising further and further subtler sounds will be heard. At first, sounds of the ocean waves, then clouds (thunder), waterfall, tabor, big bell, Military Drum, twinkling bell, flute and wasp. These sounds will be heard on persistent practice. Only the subtler sound should be listened to in the presence of multiple sounds.
  4. You should forget everything except the most subtle sound. You should forget the outside world and become one with the sound. Finally, the mind will merge with sound. As long as the sound is there, so long as the mind. When the sound ceases, the mind ceases too. The constant application of the Nada of Pranava, the mind, Prana, and Atman will merge. You won’t hear any more sounds. You will be liberated and become a Videha Mukta.
Reference: Sanskrit Text Reference

Follow my blog with Bloglovin


Post a Comment


Dhyana Bindu Upanishad

Dhyana Bindu Upanishad is the 39th of 108 Upanishads. It contains 106 verses and is attached to Krishna Yajur Veda whereas a smaller version of 26 verses was found attached to Atharva Veda. This Upanishad and Yoga Tattva Upanishad contains some common verses.

The mountainous sins accumulated over many births can be destroyed by Dhyana Yoga (Meditation). Nobody is found to have destroyed the sins by any other means except Meditation. Meditation is the only way to annihilate the sins.

Pranava (Om) is the Supreme Bijakshara (seed letter) with Nada (sound) and Bindu (dot). When the Nada dissolves, the soundless residuum (Brahman) remains. In other words, Pranava (Om) is eternal and Brahman is transcending the Pranava. One who knows the transcending Brahman knows everything without a doubt.

A hundred thousandth part of awn of a grain of paddy is the Jiva-Chaitanya (Consciousness of Atman). A hundred thousandth part of Jiva-Chaitanya is Eswara-Chaitanya (Consciousness of Brahman).  A fifty-tho…

Yoga Tattva Upanishad

Yoga Tattva Upanishad is the Upanishad of yoga philosophy. It is the forty-first Upanishad among the 108 Upanishads and forms part of Krishna Yajur Veda. It contains 142 verses.

I (says the author of the Upanishad) hereby present the philosophy of yoga (yoga tattva) for the benefit of yogis. By hearing and learning this yoga, the yogi will get released himself from all the sins.

The great yogi by name Vishnu, the Supreme Being who is known for his spiritual austerities, stands as the beacon of light in the path of yoga tattva. The Pitamaha (Pitamaha means grandfather. It here refers to Lord Brahman, the deity) approached Lord Jagannath (the other name for Lord Vishnu. Jagannath means the Lord of the universe) paid him respects and asked him to explain the philosophy of Astanga Yoga (yoga of eight limbs or stages).

“Let me explain the philosophy,” said Lord Hrisikesha (the other name of Lord Vishnu. It means the Lord of senses). All people are ensnared in the trap of worldly pains and pl…

Brahma Vidya Upanishad

Brahma Vidya Upanishad is the 40th among the 108 Upanishads. It contains 110 verses and found attached in Krishna Yajur Veda. Yet another version of this Upanishad containing 14 verses is found attached in Atharva Veda.
Brahma Vidya is the knowledge of Brahman. Hence this Upanishad deals with the knowledge of Brahman.
I declare the secret of Brahma Vidya, in the name Vishnu who commands over the marvelous deeds. The supreme science of Brahman is the monosyllable Om, as declared by the expounders of Vedanta.
I declare the body, seat, and durations of Om.  It includes the three Gods (Brahma, Vishnu, and Maheswara), the three worlds (Bhur, Bhuvar, and Suvar), the three Vedas (Rig, Yajur, and Sama), the three Fires (Garha-patya, Dakshina, and Ahavaniya), the three Matras (A, U, and M), and the Ardha Matra.
The body of Pranava The body of the first Matra “A” is Rig Veda, Garha-patya (Fire), Prithvi (Earth), and Lord Brahman, the deity. (In Sanskrit, the word Brahman has two connotations. One is…